Community Relations Commission

The purpose of the Community Relations Commission is to advocate community harmony, provide an objective forum for fairness and equality, seek elimination of discrimination, and promote accessibility to public services and facilities irrespective of race, age, sex, national origin or disability. The commission investigates and formulates recommendations in pursuit of equitable resolutions in matters of potential or alleged discrimination. They foster accurate public perception by assisting to channel communications and eliminate false or misleading rumors, and they serve as an information clearing house and a facilitating entity in the area of social justice.

Authority: Ordinance adopted by the Lancaster County Council on 8/29//94 (#251).

Governing Body: The Lancaster County Community Relations Commission is composed of 11 members, 7 of which are appointed by the Lancaster County Council representing the 7 County Council Districts. Residency in the council member’s district is not required.

Three (3) appointments are made by the municipalities:

One (1) by the City Council of Lancaster
One (1) by the Town Council of Kershaw
One (1) by the Town Council of Heath Springs
One (1) appointment will be a school representative appointed by the Lancaster County School District.

Term of Office: 4-year terms. Members may serve 2 consecutive terms, but will thereafter be ineligible for appointment for a period of two years.

Meetings: 3rd Thursday of each month at 6:30 p.m. at the Lancaster County Library, 313 South Whie Street, Lancaster, SC 29720.

Earl Gainey City of Lancaster rep. 6/30/2023
Betty George District 1 6/30/2025
Clara Jones, Chairwoman District 2 6/30/2027
Odell Parker District 3 6/30/2025
Mark Kahn District 4 6/30/2023
George Sellers District 5 6/30/2023
Silberio Francis District 6 6/30/2027
Kevan Waiters District 7 6/30/2025
Albert Tucker Heath Springs rep. 6/30/2018
Michael Young Kershaw rep. 6/30/2023
Melissa Jones - Horton School rep. 6/30/2023